Ticked Off…

Our dress rehearsal on Saturday for Easter Sunday Mass went flawlessly.

Big poofy, pastel dresses on my three littlest girls, and my tween and teen looked elegant in their new clothes. Socks, and shoes were matched and shiny, and ribbons were crisp. Every hair was in place and faces were fresh and glowing. We were even on track with our schedule.

The girls were free to shed their pretty – but admittedly stiff – dresses and shoes, and throw on jeans and sweatshirts to play in the “enchanted forest” behind our house with the kids next door for the rest of the day.

Again, that was Saturday.

Image

Seven am on Sunday was my target time to wake up in order to get everyone up and ready for 10:30 Mass, and to get the big, yummy roast in the oven (as bad as I am at making meatloaf – my roast way makes up for it). Well, the Easter Bunny needed help filling his eggs and baskets and insisted I share a bottle of wine with him as I helped, and well, let’s just say I did not get out of bed until 8. Ish.

Actually the delighted squeals of my daughters finding their baskets were my alarm clock and I hopped out of bed in overdrive – I could still accomplish everything if I just hurried.

No, I couldn’t. But, no worries – there was still noon Mass, and that meant I could again relax and enjoy my girls. At 11:15, all the girls were supposed to be dressed. They were. But we had FOUR rogue shoes and we went on a massive hunt throughout the house looking for them – the sound of little voices (and mine) repeatedly saying the prayer to St. Anthony (‘Dear St. Anthony, please come around – something’s lost and must be found…”).

Yeah, that didn’t work. I found myself resorting to the dreaded “Plan B” – sigh, sneakers and flip-flops. Deep breath, Vick – no one will be looking at their feet.

BUT…we were still on time. It was 11:30 and Mass was 12 minutes away. the only thing left to do with to quickly brush Daughter #3’s hair. She has gorgeous thick hair and feels like silk. I ran a brush through it and gathered her hair to make a braid.

And there it was. Attached right behind my 8 year old’s little year. A hideous, bloated tick – it’s creepy legs flailing as I poked at it. I froze and heard myself say, “Oh my God,” before I could stop myself, and my daughter immediately picked up on it. “WHAT IS IT??!!!!!”

My oldest daughter rushed over, “Eeeeeewwwwwwww!! It’s a tick!!”, which immediately got Daughter #3 into a sheer panic – “I’M GONNA DIE!!!!!! MOMMY, I’M TOO YOUNG TO DIE!!!”

I’m pretty convinced I dug out a good chunk of tender skin with my tweezers, along with that evil little bug in the following 20 minutes.

We piled into our vehicle at 11:57, and pretty much realized that there was no way we were going to make Mass – 12 minute drive, 20 minute parking attempt – pretty much Mass will be over as we’re walking in.

The girls had a FANTASTIC Easter egg hunt, and my roast – ahh, my roast – it, came out PERFECT.

Categories: accomplishments, airplanes, art, baby, birth, cape cod, child, children, deep sea fishing, family, fishing, flying, gliding, Humor, jewelry, journal, kids, Latvia, life, mom, mommy, mother, moving, Myrtle Beach, myrtle beach move, painting, parenting, personal, Poland, prismacolor, relocating, toddlers, travel, Uncategorized, vacation, watercolor painting, watercolor pencils, waterpainting | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 35 Comments

Post navigation

35 thoughts on “Ticked Off…

  1. Laughing out loud as I read your blog today… So real, so human and so perfect 🙂 thanks for sharing !

  2. I’m sitting here attempting to stifle my cracking up laughing, my office mate swearing I’m choking on something….
    At least you made my day brighter!! Thank you!

  3. what a fantastic day!!!

  4. The best laid plans . . .Just sounds like there’s lots of excitement at your house. Probably all the time. You’re a lucky woman.

  5. That whole “AAARGH, you’ve got a TICK on your ear!!!”, I get that all the time, it’s really no big deal. Most of them won’t even give you Lyme disease anyway. But then again, she’s a little girl and I’m a Bulldog…go figure. Love your blog, by the way :)!

  6. The many joys of Mommyhood :)…

  7. martinisandminivans

    Hilarious! I love the tick part and how your daughter yelled that she was too young to die. The drama in your house must be endless. I love it!! I am going to add you to my blog roll. Great fun to read!

  8. I really hate to pull out Plan B too! 🙂

  9. It sounds like you had a great Easter. I can relate the shoes, they always seem to walk off when you want them. Did you look in the fridge? LOL Sorry about the tick. At least you caught it. Your little girls sound like so much fun. It makes me miss mine that are now grown with little ones of their own.

  10. being a mom…THE toughest job in the world!

  11. BUT the dress rehearsal went well 🙂

    I am glad it all turned out in the end.

  12. I have SO been there!! Just take a deep breath and enjoy another nice glass of wine!! 🙂

  13. Now, that’s a memorable Easter!!!! (Totally relate to the shoes thing – Flip flops rock) As for me, I slipped on flip flops with my Easter dress just to go hunt down my wandering Noah Sunday morning, it wasn’t until I got to church I realized I still had them on. Sigh.

  14. I’m guessing the dress rehearsal on Saturday was in an effort to avoid what happened Sunday. Oh, I so relate. Making memories, though, that’s for sure!

  15. Well done! A fun read, too 🙂 We have a variation of the prayer which goes like this “Dear St Anthony full of grace, lead me to its hiding place.” Judging by the cute wording, St Anthony must cater to more kids than adults!

  16. Prayers were said, that counts for something! All in all sounds like a great Easter 🙂

  17. faithandpixels

    Gotta love being a mommy!! Thanks for being my first official follower :). I am new the blogging world but very excited about it. I’m looking forward to reading more of your posts.

  18. Ticks are going to be rampant and HORRIBLE this year. All thanks to the lackluster of Winter.

    My youngest had a HUGE (as in, feeding off her for about 3 days) dog tick on her scalp. The salon’s hairdresser found it at one of her parts as she was cutting her hair.

    The other I found was a deer tick. That sucker was BEHIND the backing of her (newly pierced) earring. It wasn’t there long, being that there was nothing there the night before when I cleaned her ears.

  19. Hurray for mommies! love the tick

  20. I’d be disappointed too 😦 but flexibility is the key huh? Glad the roast and the wine with the easter bunny went well!

  21. Jessie-Anne

    not sure about the tick, but you’re blog makes me look forward to my little one popping out!!

  22. Oh no, I hate ticks! I can commiserate with rushing around trying to find things, that was us this morning looking for errant hats and mittens. Makes me frustrated unlike anything else!

  23. Melody

    Ditto, hurray for mommies! Down with the Tick!

  24. I hate ticks. Ugh. Beautiful dresses.

  25. I’ve never had a tick. Gross. Nice blog though!

  26. Thanks so much for following my blog. I love the post. I totally remember this happening when I was little.

  27. introvertedblogger

    Here’s to the perfect roast and squishing those ticks.

  28. Fun tick removal tip : soak a cotton ball in liquid dish soap. Put on tick. It’ll retract. We live in WI – ticks abound – ridiculously abundant!!!!

    Sounds like you have a great day over all though! I can totally relate to your post – we had to rush to Mass – arrive at 8:40 for 9:30 in order to get seats at the church where I grew up. Up here – we are lucky if we’re there by 9:34…..kids were really good until 9:40 (an hour is their limit….)….

    Love reading this!!!!

  29. Love that the roast still came out perfect! –

    Try putting rubbing alcohol on a cotton ball and place it on the tick. The alcohol will make the nasty thing back out on its own and it gets stuck in the loose fibers of the cotton. Flush it when done!

  30. Heh. Yeah, we were supposed to get up at 7 to make it to an 8:30 mass. It’s just me, my husband, and our 13-month-old son. So no big, right? Wrong. We didn’t make it out of bed until 7:15, and around 8:40 I told my frenetically-trying-to-tie-his-bowtie-husband to just relax, 10AM mass was our new target. Clearly 8:30 was out. So we finished getting ready, and decided to take Easter pics out in the park near our house. There was too much sun, camera timers and tripods weren’t cooperating… and we were almost late for 10AM mass, too. Amazingly we made that one, bow tie and all. 🙂

  31. Hilarious and VERY relatable!!

  32. I had to pull a tick out this week. Not fun.

  33. It’s always something, isn’t it?!

  34. Julie Hirshenson

    Haha glad you got the tick! I can never find the shoes I want now… a little nervous about when I have to keep track of a bunch of kids shoes too!

  35. So glad your roast was great, so sorry about that big, bad tick–and so very regretful you missed Easter Mass–didn’t they have one later that evening? Anway, Happy Easter Week and happy Easter Thursday! So glad to be finally catching up with you, after my own very busy and blessedly filled Holy Week and long Easter holiday weekend.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

