A Public Apology to My Mom, and Mrs. Sparkly’s Ten Commandments Award

I am not proud about what I am about to confess to you.

Worst of all, I know I will disappoint my mother the most.

I committed a HUGE sin in Polish tradition. I used instant potatoes in my pierogie.

It has been a  bit incredibly difficult to sit down and write a proper post these last few weeks. The weather has been very nice for soaring the glider and life just seems to keep getting in the way – which, while providing me with awesome fodder for my blog, leaves me little time for the actual writing of the blog. PLEASE bear with me.

In light of all this bustle, I have had to manage my time slightly differently, and this is where the instant potatoes comes in. With the amount of potatoes we need to make enough pierogie for our family – about 15 lbs – the peeling takes a while – even with three helpers. And, I run out of band-aids REALLY fast. The Fact or Fake and Ghost Adventures (International)  marathon we have been watching on Netflix (lessons in fact and opinion, history, geography, science and physics) kinda kept taking up our time, and frankly, we didn’t want to tear ourselves away from our Corda-Roy chair to peel potatoes.

So…I steeled myself and did it – I bought a box of instant potatoes to save time.

I’m sorry Mom. I learned my lesson. I will NEVER do that again. Not for making pierogie anyway.

After learning my lesson regarding skimping on time with the pierogie, I did not want to rush through my nominations for the awards.

 

OK…so…here they are!!!

Mrs. Sparkly’s Ten Commandments Award

Getting to know you, getting to know all about you….The rules for this award are that you must answer the following ten questions and nominate ten blogs that you think deserve the award.

1. Describe yourself in seven words. 

Passionate, funny, free-spirited, morning person, art-lover, dreamer, believer

2. What keeps you up at night?

Schoolwork.

3. Whom would you like to be?

J.K. Rowling

4. What are you wearing now?

Fluffy pink robe and white fluffy socks.

5. What scares you?

Centipedes – (gave myself the willies just writing that -YUCK!!!!!!)

6. What are the best and worst things about blogging?

Best thing – feedback

Worst thing – never seems to be enough time

7. What was the last website you looked at?

retailmenot.com

8. If you could change one thing about yourself what would it be?

  Wish I wasn’t allergic to fish.

9. Slankets, yes or no?

No.

10. Tell us something about the person who nominated you.

Five Second Rules  A “retired” teacher whose shoot-it-from-your-hip sense of humor is stellar!! (THANK YOU SO MUCH for nominating me!!!!!)

My 10 Nominations:

Facehookin’

Travel Lady with Baby

We Are Alive, Mom

Kara Rasmanis

The Mommy Bee

workingmamawithababy

SweetLil’You

reitersabroad

imadepeople

C’est la vie!

And…. A HUGE THANK YOU to

AllThingsBoys Blog for nominating me again for the Versatile Blogger Award! THANK YOU!!!!

And a PROMISE to my Mom – to only use REAL potatoes in my pierogie.

Categories: accomplishments, airplanes, art, baby, birth, cape cod, child, children, deep sea fishing, family, fishing, flying, gliding, Humor, jewelry, journal, kids, Latvia, life, mom, mommy, mother, moving, Myrtle Beach, myrtle beach move, painting, parenting, personal, Poland, prismacolor, relocating, sahm, stay at home mom, toddlers, travel, Uncategorized, vacation, wahm, watercolor painting, watercolor pencils, waterpainting, work at home | Tags: , , , , , , | 12 Comments

Post navigation

12 thoughts on “A Public Apology to My Mom, and Mrs. Sparkly’s Ten Commandments Award

  1. ambermlee75

    Nice! By the way, I love RetailMeNot. 🙂

  2. Congratulations on your award.

    I bet, you could have substituted 1/2 the instant potatoes with 1/2 REAL potatoes and non would have been the wiser.

  3. Wow…my mind never even went there – lol. Def keeping it in mind for NEXT time 😉 Thank you!!

  4. Looks like you got called on the carpet for your decision.

  5. I’m lost in admiration that you make pierogie. I can only eat them!

  6. My great-aunt Barb tried hard to please her father, and made several attempts at making her mother’s pierogies. All of them resulted in my great-grandfather pushing the plate away in disgust. Enter my grandma, who boiled a box of Mrs. T’s and presented them to their father with a little garnish. “Now THAT’S how your mother made them!” he proclaimed. This little story is part of family lore. Not sure if Aunt Barb ever forgave my grandma for that. LOL Your story reminded me of it. 🙂

    ~Lynn

  7. Oh, wow! You actually MAKE pierogie?? You mean they don’t come from the frozen food section at Costco ??? Thanks for dropping by 8kidsandabusiness and liking my blog. I certainly like yours.

  8. i don’t know how to make them but i would eat yours.lol

  9. Yes – the fact that you are even attempting to make them from scratch deserves a bow-down! *we are not worthy* I just boil the ones I pick up at the store.

  10. Wonderful information you share here. I enjoyed learning you are a morning person, like myself, and you stay up late to complete assignments. Loved learning once again about a lot of new blogs! Congrats!

  11. kamellia73

    Band-aids! That made me laugh out loud!

  12. Great Blog.. love this!! Thanks for the follow by the way! Justastartin!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

