Today’s Dilemma – Balls or Birds?


Yep, I’m one of THOSE.

A “coupon clipper”.

And this morning I am devoting a tiny chunk of time to “cutting money out of circulars”, with the help of, of course, my two littlest. My three year old is learning how to read and is “delighting” me with every word she reads – “Are you delighted Mommy? Watch me, Mommy, watch me read! Are you delighted?”

My six year old is calculating my savings – “Mommy, can I do it on paper or do I have to add it all up in my head?”

“No, Sweetheart, you can use paper.”

“But Mommy, then it’s not challenging.”

My three oldest are busy “practicing” bowling on Wii – I promised them an afternoon of bowling and dinner at a restaurant they could dress up to go to with the money we saved using the coupons.

It’s a GORGEOUS day though, blue skies, puffy clouds – maybe we will forget the shopping and bowling and fancy dinner.

Maybe…it will be more fun to grab some picnic things (a couple of baguettes, some hunks of cheese, a couple of pasta salads…) and hang out at the airport – spend some time up in the sky in the glider – pretending we’re birds – silently dancing through the air.

Maybe, just maybe, that’s exactly what we’ll do.

Categories: accomplishments, airplanes, art, baby, birth, cape cod, child, children, deep sea fishing, family, fishing, flying, gliding, Humor, jewelry, journal, kids, Latvia, life, mom, mommy, mother, moving, Myrtle Beach, myrtle beach move, painting, parenting, personal, Poland, prismacolor, relocating, sahm, stay at home mom, toddlers, travel, Uncategorized, vacation, wahm, watercolor painting, watercolor pencils, waterpainting, work at home | Tags: , , , , , | 9 Comments

Post navigation

9 thoughts on “Today’s Dilemma – Balls or Birds?

  1. Hope you went the picnic route. Glad to hear somebody’s having good weather.

  2. Blue sky and puffy clouds?! Go outside then – it’s raining in Seattle (shocker). Have a great day!

  3. My hubby and I used to be pretty good about coupons – before we had kids and got too busy. Now that groceries keep climbing up in prices though, I think I might have to get back into it. *sigh*

  4. Gotta love little helpers!

  5. Your three-year-old sounds like she has an excellent vocabulary!

  6. Please eat a chicken salad sandwich for me. I’m chained to a computer to make a deadline. I’ve stopped clipping coupons because I never seem to get into the store with them. Enjoy the weather.

  7. lynnlovesediting

    Nice idea!

  8. I cut coupons but then forget to use them.

  9. As one who took her own children up in two seater gliders when they were pre-school age, I can vouch for the value of spending the afternoon that way. Gliders always make me feel like a true bird! I love the way your six year old preferred the mental math to the written math! Good for her!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

