“Mom…I Have Issues Eating Food That Looks the Same Coming Out as it Does Going In!”

HOW MUCH for an ear of corn???

My father’s darkroom.

Back when he was alive, I would spend countless hours sitting down there with him. The soft red couch he had is still there and feels familiar to my skin as I tuck my legs under myself and close my eyes. This room is where I go to do serious thinking – it’s quiet and calming and all mindblocks vanish as soon as I close the heavy, carved mahogany door behind me.

The air is cool in an unusual way for late June in upstate New York, and a soft breeze moves around the smell of the developing chemicals – stored in neat rows behind a dark curtain to keep them safe from light – and it heightens my memories even more.

Read More…

Categories: children, funny, Humor, journal, life, mom, mommy, parenting, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on ““Mom…I Have Issues Eating Food That Looks the Same Coming Out as it Does Going In!”

  1. Wonderful chocolate-covered strawberry way to avoid all that “corn”. So glad you are having such great summer memories and great summer days with your girls.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

